Athletic Department

About Us

The Health, Physical Education, Dance and Athletics Division provides the opportunity for students to maintain a healthy and well-balanced life. Students can choose from a variety of class offerings including fitness/wellness, individual and team sports, dance, Adaptive Physical Education and other activities designed to improve health, fitness, movement and creative expression. In addition, the Contemporary Health Problems class offered by this division is a lecture course designed to give students the knowledge necessary to develop lifestyles that will lengthen and enhance the quality of their lives.

The following departments are headed by these committed department chairs:

Physical Education – Debbie Jensen (djensen@cerritos.edu) and Tom Caines (tcaines@cerritos.edu) Health - Ni Bueno - (nbueno@cerritos.edu)
Kinesiology - Carrie Edwards (cedwards@cerritos.edu)
Dance – Rebekah Hathaway (rhathaway@cerritos.edu)

The HPEDA Division offers 19 sports, 10 for men and nine for women, as 17 of the Cerritos College teams compete in the powerful South Coast Conference, while football (Southern California Football Association) and wrestling (Southern California Wrestling Alliance) are members of other conferences. During the 2016-17 year, three teams won California Community College Athletic Association (CCCAA) state championships (women’s soccer and women’s track and team wrestling), while the college has now won 47 state championships in their history.

For more information, please contact Dr. Daniel Smith, Dean of Health, Physical Education, Dance and Athletics Division at either (562) 860-2451 Ext. 2862 or dsmith@cerritos.edu.