M. Track & Field: Cerritos takes second place at conference championships

2018 Cerritos College Men's Track & Field Team
2018 Cerritos College Men's Track & Field Team

Competing in the South Coast Conference Championships at El Camino College on Friday, the Cerritos College men's track and field team finished in second place. The Falcons, who won one event and had four second place finishers, compiled 133 team points, which was well off the point total put together by Mt. San Antonio College, who finished with 422 points. Cerritos held off the third place host Warriors, who ended up with 126 team points. The Falcons will now send those who qualified to the Southern California Prelims, which will take place at San Diego Mesa College next Saturday. The top six automatically advance to the SoCal Prelims if they have the SoCal minimum marks.

The Falcons, who took the top two spots in the hammer, were led by freshman Mason Crane (Corona Del Mar HS), who easily won the event. His throw of 52.49 meters also placed him third on the college's all-time top five list, and outdistanced second place finisher Jorge Bergara (Salesian HS), who recorded a distance of 46.96 meters. Bergara also took second place in the shot put at 14.17 meters.

Also earning a second place finish was sophomore Cristhian Macias (Gardena HS) in the 1500 meters with his time of 4:04.50, while the 4x100-meter relay team of Saadiq Jennings (Martin Luther King, Jr. HS) Micqwaun Wright, Jacob Garrett (Fountain Valley HS) and Ezra Bray (South Gate HS), who recorded a time of 42.54.

Below are the awards that were announced at the coach's meeting:

  • Men's Coach of the Year: Ron Kamaka (Mt. SAC)
  • Women's Coach of the Year: Christopher Richardson (Cerritos)
  • Assistant Coach of the Year (Field): Chucky Hampton and Lloyd Higgins (Cerritos)
  • Assistant Coach of the Year (Track): Jenna Bird (Mt. SAC)
  • Male Track Athlete of the Year: Manuel Fernandez (Mt. SAC) & Jasher Foster (El Camino)
  • Male Track Athlete of the Meet: Carson Bix (El Camino) & Manuel Fernandez (Mt. SAC)
  • Male Field Athlete of the Year: Tate Curran (El Camino)
  • Male Field Athlete of the Meet: Joshua Taylor (East LA)
  • Female Track Athlete of the Year: Brittany Mitchell (Mt. SAC)
  • Female Track Athlete of the Meet: Kierra King (Cerritos)
  • Female Field Athlete of the Year: Amber Hart (Cerritos)
  • Female Field Athlete of the Meet: Amber Hart (Cerritos)
Tayric Elliott 200 Meters 22.29 6th Place
Cristhian Macias 800 Meters 1:58.78 4th Place
Angel Chavarria 800 Meters 1:59.51 5th Place
Clay Green 800 Meters 1:59.90 6th Place
Darion Blanding 800 Meters 2:06.97 8th Place
Abraxaz Sanchez 800 Meters 2:07.68 9th Place
Cristhian Macias 1500 Meters 4:04.50 2nd Place
Walter Ramirez 1500 Meters 4:33.35 10th Place
Jesus Ramos 1500 Meters 4:40.43 12th Place
Kenneth Jones 1500 Meters 4:42.04 13th Place
Rafael Nieto 1500 Meters 4:44.61 14th Place
Luis Munoz 5000 Meters 16:22.26 9th Place
Alberto Cano 5000 Meters 16:46.67 11th Place
Adrian Casas 5000 Meters 17:23.19 13th Place
Daniel Ramos 5000 Meters 17:30.58 14th Place
Rafael Nieto 5000 Meters 18:38.88 17th Place
Jesus Ramos 5000 Meters 19:41.03 19th Place
Moises Rodriguez 5000 Meters 19:46.31 20th Place
Daniel Ramos 10000 Meters 34:27.19 7th Place
Adrian Casas 10000 Meters 35:06/38 9th Place
Eugene Leduc 400-Meter IH 58.84 8th Place
Jamal Awad 3000 Meter SC 10:36.00 8th Place
Jennings, Wright, Garrett, Bray 4x100 Meter Relay 42.54 3rd Place
Santifer, Elliott, Green, Wright 4x400 Meter Relay 3:27.49 4th Place
Ike Agubata High Jump 1.80 Meters 4th Place
Armando Tabales High Jump 1.75 Meters 5th Place
Andrew Fowler High Jump 1.75 Meters 7th Place
Andrew Fowler Pole Vault 4.20 Meters 9th Place
Brian Castillo Pole Vault 3.90 Meters 10th Place
Ike Agubata Long Jump 6.55 Meters 7th Place
Tayric Elliott Long Jump 6.32 Meters 10th Place
Micqwaun Wright Long Jump 6.14 Meters 12th Place
Andrew Fowler Long Jump 5.99 Meters 14th Place
Micqwaun Wright Triple Jump 13.81 Meters 3rd Place
Armando Tabales Triple Jump ND  
Jorge Bergara Shot Put 14.17 Meters 2nd Place
Bedeiah Togafau Shot Put 13.05 Meters 6th Place
Mason Crane Shot Put 12.27 Meters 7th Place
Raymond Bagley Shot Put 10.48 Meters 12th Place
Kevin Puertas Shot Put 9.66 Meters 15th Place
Jorge Bergara Discus 44.18 Meters 3rd Place
Mason Crane Discus 39.83 Meters 6th Place
Bedeiah Togafau Discus 38.24 Meters 7th Place
Kevin Puertas Discus 34.84 Meters 8th Place
Raymond Bagley Discus 31.81 Meters 9th Place
Mason Crane Hammer 52.49 Meters 1st Place
Jorge Bergara Hammer 46.96 Meters 2nd Place
Bedeiah Togafau Hammer 37.27 Meters 5th Place
Kevin Puertas Hammer 37.15 Meters 6th Place
Raymond Bagley Hammer 26.12 Meters 7th Place
Ike Agubata Javelin 41.34 Meters 4th Place
Eugene Leduc Javelin 32.98 Meters Tied 10th Place
Andrew Fowler Javelin 32.98 Meters Tied 10th Place
Chris Oviedo Javelin 30.15 Meters 12th Place
Andrew Fowler Decathlon 5560 Points 2nd Place
Ike Agubata Decathlon 5469 Points 3rd Place
Chris Oviedo Decathlon 3659 Points 5th Place

Photos by Daryl Peterson